Today: Jul 03 , 2020

Rattlers Conquer the Crush In Overtime, 47-44

17 June 2017   Peter Garbow

8. Game. Win. Streak.

Fort Collins, Colo. – The Arizona Rattlers (12-4) will enter the postseason with momentum by extending their win streak to eight by defeating the Colorado Crush (3-13) by a score of 47-44 in overtime at the Budweiser Center in Fort Collins, Colorado.

The victory also ties the IFL road win streak record with seven straight road wins.

The Rattlers overcame four lost fumbles and overtime, but in the end, was able to do enough to come away with the win.  

Offensively, the Rattlers did most of their damage on the ground with five players rushing for double digit yards.  Wide receiver Jamal Miles led the way with six attempts for 51 yards (8.5 avg.), Darrell Monroe had six attempts for 37 yards (6.2 avg.), and Ketrich Harmon had 10 attempts for 25 yards.  The quarterbacks split time, with QB Cody Sokol taking the first half, and QB Darron Thomas playing the second.  Sokol completed four of his five attempts for 16 yards and three rushes for 12 yards. Thomas completed six of seven for 76 yards and 11 rushes for 31 yards.

On defense, Justin Shirk again led the way in tackles with 11 and had one sack. Defensive back Allen Chapman got an interception early in the fourth to go along with four pass breakups.

For the Crush, quarterback Liam Nadler completed 16 of 32 passes for 144 yards, two touchdowns, and an interception.  Nadler also led his team on the ground with five attempts for 30 yards. 

The Crush got on the board first with a 25-yard field goal by K Miles Bergner.

The Rattlers would respond with a six-yard touchdown run by RB Darrell Monroe.

Colorado closed out the first quarter with a 10-yard touchdown pass from QB Liam Nadler to WR Kendall Sanders.

Arizona took their first possession of the second quarter down the field in five plays for another touchdown, this one a four-yard rush by WR Jamal Miles.

Colorado would retake the lead with a one-yard run by RB Zavier Steward.

The Rattlers would answer with a three-yard touchdown run by Monroe.

The Crush pulled within one with a 38-yard field goal by Bergner.

Arizona would extend their lead to four again as the clock wound down with a 23-yard field goal by K Sawyer Petre.

The Rattlers switched quarterbacks in the second half, and QB Darron Thomas would provide the first score of the third with a one-yard touchdown run.

Colorado went on a run and took a seven-point lead after a 42-yard field goal by Bergner, a 43-yard fumble return by LB Azziz Higgins, and a 31-yard pass from Nadler to WR Lovie Rose III.

Arizona finally got back on the board with a two-yard run by Thomas to tie the game.

Both teams swapped field goals to end the fourth quarter.  Bergner kicked a 19-yard field goal, and Petre kicked a 33-yarder to put the game into overtime.

In overtime, the Rattlers held the Crush to a 35-yard field goal by Bergner, which was good. On Arizona’s turn, the Rattlers ended the game with a two-yard touchdown run by Harmon.

The Rattlers return home to the Talking Stick Resort Arena for the Intense Conference Championship this Saturday, June 24th.  With the Spokane Empire’s loss to the Salt Lake Screaming Eagles tonight, the Nebraska Danger have clinched the second seed and will now travel to Phoenix to face the Rattlers next Saturday.  The Championship game will be broadcast live on a special FOX Sports Arizona Rattlers Channel on DirecTV and DISH, as well as being streamed online on YouTube and the FOX Sports GO app, and simulcast on Money Radio 1510 and 105.3 FM.

Score by Quarters






















About the Arizona Rattlers 

The Arizona Rattlers were founded in 1992, and are proud members of the Indoor Football League (IFL). The Rattlers spent 24 seasons in the Arena Football League (AFL), and in that time made ten appearances in the ArenaBowl, winning in 2014, 2013, 2012, 1997 and 1994. For tickets, call 602-514-TDTD (8383), or visit