Today: Feb 27 , 2020

Republican Women of Prescott Select Scholarship Winners

01 May 2018   Barbara Ernst

RWOP Scholarship winners announced.

RWOP is pleased to award $16,000 in scholarships to 12 seniors graduating from high schools within the Quad City. Applicants were judged on transcripts, outside activities, letter of recommendation, content of a 500 word essay, and a 20 minute interview by the RWOP Scholarship Committee.

Funding for the scholarships came from the proceeds of RWOP Fundraisers and from two endowments from members.

Winners include five from Prescott High School: Grace Barrett, Abigail Chartier, Charles Hicks, Kody Jones and Rhodes Award winner, Braden Lopez. Bradshaw Mountain High had two winners: Jacquelyn Bassford and Sarah Nisse. AZ Agribusiness & Equine Center also had two winners: Kateri Wrublik and Kuebler Award winner Bridget Koehl. Bagdad High School had a winner as well, Bethany Loveall. Dayna Burns, who is home schooled, was a recipient of a RWOP award.

Scholarships will be awarded at the RWOP luncheon at the Prescott Resort on May 15. Announcements of the awards will be given at the various high schools with presentations by individuals of the RWOP Scholarship Committee.

Prescott City Councilman Steve Blair is hosting eight of the award winners on his radio show at KYCA (1490 AM). Four will participate on May11 from 4:00 to 5:00 p.m. and four more on May 15 from 8:00 to 9:00 a.m.

All of the recipients are invited to participate in a student forum at Las Fuentes on May 18 from 3:00 to 4:00 p.m. Friends, families and public are encouraged to attend.

Contact: Barbara Ernst, or 928 776-0851.